When to complete a collision report: You are NOT REQUIRED to complete a collision report if a law enforcement officer investigates the collision. The investigating officer will file the collision report. However, you always have the option of filing a report.
You are REQUIRED to complete a collision report when no law enforcement officer investigates the collision. Each driver involved in the collision must submit a report within 4 days of the collision. You can get blank motor vehicle collision report forms from your local police department, county sheriff’s office, or Washington State Patrol detachment.
How to get a copy of a collision report: If you were involved in a collision and would like a copy of the collision report you or a law enforcement officer completed, you may request a copy from the Washington State Patrol.
What collision information goes on a driving record: We add the following collision information to the driving record of ALL drivers involved in collisions where there was bodily injury or at least $700 in property damage to any one person’s property:
1) The collision date | 2) The number of vehicles involved | 3) Whether the vehicles were legally parked or moving
4) Whether the vehicles were occupied at the time of the collision | 5) Whether the collision resulted in any injury or fatality
WAC 446-85-010: Accident Reporting Threshold
Beginning January 1, 2000, the accident reporting threshold for property damage accidents shall be $700 (seven hundred dollars)
How to request another driver's insurance information
If you've been in a collision & were injured or received a minimum of $700 in property damage, you may request any info we have on record showing the other driver or vehicle owner’s proof of insurance. The fee for this info is $5.
Please send us a written request with the following information:
1) Name of the driver and/or vehicle owner | 2) Driver and/or vehicle owner's date-of-birth and driver's license number - if known
3) Date of collision | 4) Collision report number | 5) Check or money order in the amount of $5 (five dollars)
Send your request by mail to: Accident Processing Unit - Department of Licensing - P. O. Box 9048 - Olympia, WA - 98507-9048